top of page

Wonder | By Aubrey Krajewski

This poem is a lovely conveyance of the struggles of growing old. We are filled with adventure and wonder when we are young children, but that starts to fade when we are forced to grow up and take on responsibilities. We are captured by the enchanting rhymes, but are drawn back with ringing truth. Each of us wish we could go back to the simpler times of make-believe and fearlessness, but alas, we cannot.

 

I was young and scared of nothing

I was enchanted by the moon

When I sat at the dinner table

I used two hands with my spoon

I used words like “Mum” and “Daddy”

I rolled ‘round on the floor

I had my sword and shield at hand

And bravely fought the war

I swung from trees and branches

I danced out in the rain

I raced throughout the forest

A barefoot jet airplane

Then one day the time had come

To put the silliness away

I was a high-school girl now

My childhood then decayed.

Perfume, heels, and make-up

All things a girl must need

Not rock or sticks or even bugs

No matter how she pleads

High school really changed me

It taught me to fit in

It taught me to appreciate

The child that’s held within.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page